Ogden Local Court Info

A criminal misdemeanor charge is given to you after your first and second DUI charges. If you have been charged with a DUI in Ogden, Utah, you will have to appear before the Ogden City Justice Court if you wish to fight your DUI charge. Utah’s Justice Court system deals with small claims, parking violations, traffic violations, and criminal misdemeanors, like DUI’s.

Here at Kelly Cardon & Associates, we have experience with the Ogden City Justice Court as we are conveniently located in Ogden. We are also well versed in DUI defense and can help you build a reputable defense against your DUI misdemeanor charge. You don’t have to fight your charge alone, we are here to help you every step of the way.

Ogden City Justice Court

The Ogden City Justice Court does not hear all DUI misdemeanor charges, but only those that occurred in the Ogden Police Department’s jurisdiction. Although, there are exceptions with this. The Ogden City Justice Court also hears Utah Highway Patrol DUI cases if they were charged within the Ogden area. Also, some Weber State University misdemeanors are heard by the Ogden City Justice Court.

Overall, Utah has one of the lowest numbers of DUI charges in the nation. This has a lot to do with the number of Utah residents that abstain from alcohol, especially in Ogden. DUI charges are not a charge to take lightly, however. The penalties that accompany DUI’s are not worth driving intoxicated.

DUI Penalties

In Ogden, as with the rest of Utah, your first two DUI charges in a ten year period are charged as class B misdemeanors. The first offense requires a minimum of 48 hours of jail time, while the second charge requires as much as 240 hours. The first DUI charge will also have a $700 fine attached and your license will be suspended for at least 120 days. Your second charge will have a slightly higher fine, $800, and your license could be suspended for 2 years.

After your first two DUI’s in a ten period, your third charge will be a felony. This means your third DUI charge will not be handled in the Ogden City Justice Court, but in a higher court.

How We Can Help

Fighting your DUI misdemeanors will require seasoned legal counsel. Here at Kelly Cardon & Associates, we have much experience fighting DUI misdemeanor charges in the Ogden City Justice Court. If you have been charged with a DUI misdemeanor in the Ogden area, we can help you fight your charge.

You can contact us here or call us at 801.627.1110 if you’re in Northern Utah or 801.328.1110 if you’re in the greater Salt Lake City area.