The DUI Driver’s License Suspension Process in Utah

Losing your driver’s license can have far-reaching effects on your day-to-day life. Whether you had your license suspended as a result of speeding, a DUI, or any other criminal charge, getting your license reinstated can be a hassle. Without a driver’s license in Utah, you are forced to use public transportation that may not cover the area you need. This makes getting your suspended license reinstated crucial to daily life.

As Utah’s most trusted DUI defense law office, here at Kelly Cardon & Associates, we have the knowledge and expertise to help you get your suspended driver’s license reinstated. We know exactly how hard it can be to get around without one in the Beehive State, which is why we are here to help.

Why Your Utah Driver’s License is Suspended

In Utah, there are many reasons your driving privileges may be put on hold. One of the most common is a DUI charge. With a first offense DUI, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least 120 days, while your second and third offenses can extend this time to anywhere between 18 months and 3 years. This suspension is on top of any fines you have to pay and any jail time you have to serve.

Along the same lines, if you refuse to take a chemical blood alcohol level (BAL) test, your license will be suspended for at least 18 months for the first offense. This is due to the Implied Consent Law, which means you consent to future BAL tests when you get your license. Refusing to do so is against the law.

DUI’s are not the only reason your driver’s license could be suspended in Utah, though. If you accumulate 200 points on your license within a three year period from traffic violations, your license will be suspended. Also, your license could be suspended if you drive without adequate insurance.

You can even have your license suspended for non-driving criminal penalties. For example, failure to pay child support can result in a driver’s license suspension.

Driver’s License Reinstatement in Utah

If you have committed a violation that could result in a suspended driver’s license in Utah, the Driver’s License Division (DLD) could request that you come in for an administrative hearing. The results of the hearing will determine the fate of your license. This hearing process could, however, save you the hassle of having your license suspended.

If your license has been suspended, you must wait until the suspension period has ended before applying for reinstatement. You will need to fulfill any requirements set forth by the DLD before applying for reinstatement, however. Some of these requirements could be:

  • Proof of insurance
  • Defensive driving courses
  • Paying any suspended license fees

How We Can Help

If you are facing the possibility of having your driver’s license suspended in Utah, we can help. You can contact us here or call us at 801.627.1110 if you’re in Northern Utah or 801.328.1110 if you’re in the greater Salt Lake City area.