Getting Your License Back After a DUI

One of the most detrimental criminal charges you can face is a DUI charge. In addition to any legal fines and jail time that might accompany a DUI, your license will be suspended. Life without a driver’s license can be tough in Utah and a lack of transportation could make finding steady employment difficult.

Here at Kelly Cardon & Associates, we understand these difficulties, so don’t worry—we can help. We understand the complexities of these situations and we have the resources and experience to help you get your driver’s license reinstated after your DUI suspension period is finished.

DUI License Suspension

Any DUI conviction in Utah will result in a suspended driver’s license. A first offense is by far the most lenient, but you will still be without your license for at least 120 days. This is on top of the fines and jail time that is required, $700 and a minimum of 48 hours in jail. You are also charged with a misdemeanor.

Your second offense is also charged as a misdemeanor DUI, but the penalties are stiffer. Instead of 48 hours of jail time, you are required a minimum of 240 hours and your fine grows to $800. Your license will be suspended for up to two years.

Your third offense, however, is not a misdemeanor, but a felony. The charges are also increased with a license suspension period of two years and prison time of anywhere between 1 year and 15 years. The criminal fine for your third DUI in ten years is also increased to $1,500.

With a suspended license, whether a result of a DUI charge or another criminal penalty, cannot be reinstated until the suspension period has ended. Luckily, there are ways to get your license reinstated after a DUI.

DUI License Reinstatement

Once your suspension period has ended, your jail time has been completed, and any legal fines have been paid, you are eligible for reinstatement. However, you may have to fulfill further requirements that the Driver’s License Division (DLD) has issued. Some of these additional requirements for license reinstatement after a DUI could be:

  • Community service
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Driving courses
  • Legal fees, including alcohol-related offense reinstatement fee

How We Can Help

Here at Kelly Cardon & Associates, we understand how frustrating it can be to be without your Utah driver’s license, which is why we are here to help you every step of the way. We have the experience need to help get your license reinstated after a DUI.  You can contact us here or call us at 801.627.1110 if you’re in Northern Utah or 801.328.1110 if you’re in the greater Salt Lake City area.